Our work is a collaboration between each unique client and our talented team. This collaboration is supported by an open studio that fosters direct and indirect partnerships to allow our projects to benefit from each designer’s unique passions and skills.

Ruhl | Jahnes has renewed its commitment to The 1+, a program of Public Architecture, which connects nonprofits with architecture and design firms willing to provide pro bono services to qualified non-profits. If every architecture professional in the U.S. committed 1% of their time to  pro  bono service, it would add up to 5,000,000 hours annually - the equivalent of a 2,500-person firm, working full-time for the public good.


We are both realists and dreamers. Our approach is renewable, sustainable, and site-specific. We maximize views, sunlight, and airflow. The process focuses on meticulous attention to detail and transparency in both practice and materials. 

Our portfolio includes a broad variety of work including custom homes, lofts, apartments, academic, and commercial spaces. 

The work is centered around New England but, thanks to technology, we’re able to design globally. We also have completed projects in Hawaii, St. Croix, North Carolina, Florida, and Ohio.

Our award-winning projects are inspired by our clients, their unique way of living, and the project’s specific site and natural features. We’re all stewards of a shared built environment. Our goal is to use our innovation and expertise to make that environment more delightful, one design at a time.


We are so grateful for the substantial contributions over the years of our colleagues at Ruhl | Jahnes and our predecessor firms, Ruhl Studio and Ruhl Walker Architects:

Spencer Asselin, Mark Bandzak, Samuel Batchelor, Adiel Benitez, Kathryn Pakenham Bilgen, Derek Bisson, Keith Case, Tom Chung, Ryan Clement, Paul Commito, Kristen Bender Daaboul, Christopher Dial, Manavi Dixit, Lucy Fang, Sean Farrell, Michaella Fusco, Sarah Gunawan, Gabrielle Heffernan, Juliet Hernandez, Simi Hoque, Trudie Kaiser, Andrew Kotleski, Stacy Krieg, Caroline LaFleche, Anne Snelling Lee, Nick Lewis, Chee Keong Lin, Alan Lu, Giancarlo Mangone, Grace Mathieson, Lester Matos, Mark McGlothlin, Peter Minosh, Jide Olanrewaju, Matt Ostrow, Marc Perras, Nerijus Petrokas, Gregory Pinter, Nick Radesky, Grant Scott, Aticha Siriphand. Lilly Smith, Hattie Stroud, Shannon Sturm, Ellen Teunissen-Kooloos, Dustin Tisdale, Cheyenne Vandevoorde, Bradford Walker, Patrick Weber, Nedith Wikina, and Steven Wolenski


We look forward to bringing the joy and excitement of innovative modern architectural design to your project!